Twelve Winters Press, a literary publisher, is dedicated to bringing out high-quality work that may be difficult to place with commercial publishers, or even independent and university presses—perhaps because of its length, complexity, or difficulty in pigeon-holing into a specific genre or category.  We are small, however, and must take on projects in a very limited manner, emphasizing quality over quantity. Twelve Winters also publishes the imprints Shining Hall and Maidenhead Hall.
Twelve Winters Press will digitally publish that oddfellow of fiction: the long short story. While literary history is filled with wonderful tales that fall between the word count of the typical short story and the novella (think "Bartleby, the Scrivener," weighing in at almost 15,000 words, or "The Death of Ivan Ilyich" at over 22,000), contemporary editors and publishers are loath to consider them. They're too long for consideration for nearly all literary journals, and they're too short to be considered a stand-alone book, especially a print book. In order to fill that void and recognize the excellent writing that falls into the no-person's-land of length, we have established The Publisher's Long Story Prize.

  • Twice yearly we will publish a short story between 8,000 and 22,000 words, and pay the author 10% of the entry fees collected during that reading period. The story will be published in Kindle and Nook formats; the author will also be invited to create an audio version of the story, which the Press will publish via Amazon, Audible and iTunes. The story must be previously unpublished. Simultaneous submissions are acceptable, as long as the story is withdrawn from consideration immediately if accepted elsewhere—the entry fee is nonrefundable.

  • Our only criteria—besides length—is quality. We are a literary publisher that appreciates risk-taking forms and work that blurs the lines between genres. That said, we are not biased against more traditionally written stories. If one peruses our book-length titles, one will see that our list runs the gamut from the classic (Final Stanzas, stories by Grant Tracey, for instance) to the avant-garde (Road Trip, a novella by Lynette D'Amico). Their common link is uncommon imagination combined with masterful narrative technique.

  • In addition to a well-crafted e-book with an artfully designed cover—and the prize money—the winner will also be given "Friend of the Press" status, which means we're happy to consider book-length manuscripts from them in the future (generally, the Press doesn't accept unsolicited submissions). Moreover, we'll also vigorously promote their e-book via our website and social media.

  • There is a nonrefundable $11.11 entry fee, which will be used to pay the prize recipient, but also to support the Press's ongoing literary endeavors. Frankly it's a difficult time to be a publisher of literary work, and it requires capital to help our authors have a fighting chance in a marketplace dominated by commercial mega-publishers. In other words, think of the entry fee as joining us in the good fight on behalf of the writers and poets who produce the work that speaks to the souls of discriminating readers.

  • Submissions are accepted throughout the year. Manuscripts received during an approximate six-month period will be considered for the semi-annual Prize. Because of the schedule of naming winners and the length of the entries, it may take several months for notifications. In the meantime, we appreciate your patience. We're a small staff trying to do a big job and do it well; quality takes time.

Contact the Press with any questions about the Prize. Please note that the Prize money will be paid via PayPal.
Ends on November 2, 2016$ 25.00 - 35.00
$ 25.00 - 35.00

The Vachel Lindsay Poetry Prize is awarded to an unpublished book of poetry. The winner’s collection will be published by Twelve Winters Press in print and digital formats (with the possibility of an author-read audio version). The winner will also receive twenty copies of the print edition, 20% of the funds generated by the contest entries up to a maximum prize of $1,000, and an offer of the Press’s standard publishing agreement, which includes 20% royalties.

The winner will be determined by the final judge, Pauline Uchmanowicz, and the winning collection will be reviewed by the North American Review. Some finalists may be offered publication via Twelve Winters as well.

Submissions must adhere to the following guidelines:

  • The collection must be between 50 and 80 manuscript pages.
  • Follow standard manuscript submission guidelines (e.g., a minimum of 11-point font, in either Times New Roman, Calibri, or another conventional typeface).
  • The poems must be the poet’s original work, and she/he must have the rights and permissions to publish the poems and all of their contents.
  • The poems must be in English. Words and brief phrases in other languages within the poems or as epigraphs are acceptable.
  • The submitted manuscript must be free of any information that identifies the poet. No acknowledgments/appreciations page please.
  • Close friends, family and students of the final judge, Pauline Uchmanowicz, are ineligible.

Entries must be submitted via the Press’s Submittable site by November 1, 2016. There is a nonrefundable $25 fee – or $35, nonrefundable, if the entrant wishes to receive a copy of the winning collection when it is published.

The winner and finalists will be announced in spring 2017.

For questions about the contest, please contact Twelve Winters Press at

About the Contest Judge:

The final judge, Pauline Uchmanowicz, is the author of the poetry collection Starfish, as well as the chapbooks Sand & Traffic and Inchworm Season. Her poetry and other writing are widely published -- CrazyhorseOhio Review, and Ploughshares among many others. She directs the Creative Writing program at SUNY New Paltz.